Music

Keep Ya Head Up

While searching for a video for this week’s “video of the week”, I came across the above performance on http://www.spin.com. During a visit to students at L.A.’s Marcus Garvey High School in 1993, Tupac is speaking to youth and spits the first verse of his classic (and my favorite) Keep Ya Head Up. Keep Ya Head up was released as a single off Tupac’s sophomore album, Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z in 1993. It reached #2 on the Billboard Rap Chart, #7 on the R&B Chart and #12 on the Hot 100 Chart. In my opinion, this is one of the best hip hop songs of all time. Every time it comes up on my iPhone or Pandora I have to listen to it.

Leave a Reply

