Goals · Personal

Feeling Stuck

As some of you may know, I was laid off from my job last week. I was shocked upon hearing the news, because I wasn’t expecting it. But as I said in a previous post, my reaction was cool, calm and collected. The blessing in disguise was immediately noticeable to me. I’ve been wanting to transition from grant writing into…..well, i’m still not sure exactly, but i saw my lay off as allowing me time to critically reflect on the kind of work I enjoy, my ideal job, and how I might get there.

This week I was presented with a possible job opportunity that would involve similar work to what I’ve been doing for the last few years. I’m very tempted to take the position if I am offered it, but I’m really worried that I will be continually settling for jobs that I don’t enjoy, because they offer a veneer of financial security. Taking the position would be the “smart” thing to do, because i obviously need an income, but, I want a job that where I will be happy waking up in the morning to go. I do know what I am interested in doing, but I’m not sure of how to get there, and I fear that taking this position will cause me to remain stuck in the grant writing/fundraising world. I don’t have the economic privilege or people that I can financially rely on long-term, to not work (or even work part-time) and wait for the perfect job.

I think my next step will include more in-depth research into the qualifications and experience required for what I want to do, and figure out how to gain that experience, if not in a paid position, by volunteering my time. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

