Books · Writing

Words That Moved Me

For me, 2015 has been defined by me slowly but surely getting back to my writing roots, and I had the fortunate experience of having a few pieces published this year, which you can read here. In 2016, I plan to redesign this site and have it integrate all of my passions, social justice, food, books, and music.

I know that reading a wide variety of books, articles, etc. makes you a better writer, and this year there were so many moving words written by the most amazing minds and it really inspired me to continually improve my craft. Here are just a few books and articles that educated me, influenced me to think in new and different ways, inspired me, and made me think: I want to make people feel how these words just made me feel.

Books

Octavia’s Brood: Science Fiction Stories from Social Justice Movements, edited by Walidah Imarisha and adrienne maree brown

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

This Nonviolent Stuff’ll Get You Killed by Charles E. Cobb

The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks by Jeanne Theoharris

At the Dark End of the Street Black Women, Rape & Resistance: a New History of the Civil Rights from Rosa Parks to the Rise of Black Power by Danielle McGuire

Ella Baker & The Black Freedom Movement: A Radical Democratic Vision by Barbara Ransby

ShadowShaper by Daniel Jose Older

Articles

Why so many minority millennials can’t get ahead by Mel Jones at The Atlantic

Ashley C. Ford interview by Tammi Heneveld at The Great Discontent

Soul murder and the American jail by Melanie D. Newport

Racial Profiling on the Main Line by Steve Volk at Philadelphia Magazine

As Chicago Police Kill Youth, Vast Misconduct Allegations Purged by Sarah Macaraeg at Truthout

Da Art of Storytelling’ (A Prequel) by Kiese Laymon at Oxford American

Leave a Reply

