Recipes

Simple Crispy Wings Recipe

IMG_0248

 

Alright, so I decided to post my first recipe, for crispy chicken wings. One of the first recipes I tried from a food blog was crispy chili lime baked wings from Steele House Kitchen. This recipe taught me a new technique for baking chicken; basically making sure that the wings are completely dry, and baking them on high heat. The wings turn out really crisp, which allows them to hold sauce well without becoming soggy. I used this technique for my simple, three ingredient chicken wing recipe.

Simple Crispy Wings

Ingredients

  • Chicken wings (In this recipe, I used frozen chicken wing sections that came in a three pound bag from Target)
  • Creole Seasoning (I use Tony Chachere’s, but you can obviously use any brand you have or make your own seasoning. Emeril Lagasse has a good recipe that I’ve made before.)
  • Lemon Pepper (I use Lawry’s brand)

Directions

  • The wings I used were frozen, so I thawed them out in cold water. I can’t really say how long it takes to thaw them out, because after placing the wings in the water, I got caught up doing other stuff on the computer (mostly social media, lol) and before I knew it, about two hours had passed, and they of course were thawed out by then.
  • Dry the wings off really good. This is crucial if you want them to get crispy!
  • Preheat oven at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes
  • Place them on a baking rack or sheet. If you have nonstick cooking spray on hand, spray some on the rack or pan to prevent sticking. Pop in the oven, and depending on how many you cook, it will take anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour. About halfway through cooking, turn the chicken over so all sides get evenly crisp
  • When the wings are done, take them out of the oven, and transfer to a bowl. Sprinkle very liberal amounts of creole and lemon pepper seasoning. And you’re done! If you want some spice, sprinkle your favorite hot sauce over the wings.

 

Leave a Reply

